New Board Members – July 2023

Distinguished leaders will help guide energy storage research programmes and future strategy

Two new members, Professor Dame Lynn Gladden and Dr Venkat Srinivasan, have joined the Faraday Institution’s board of trustees, further strengthening the board’s strategic and research expertise.

The board of trustees, with the newly appointed trustees, bring multifaceted perspectives and experiences from academia, industry, and public service to the role of advising the Faraday Institution.

Announcing the new appointments, board chair Professor Peter B. Littlewood said: “It is with great pleasure that we welcome Professor Dame Lynn Gladden and Dr Venkat Srinivasan to the Board.

“As the former Executive Chair of EPSRC and Pro-VC of Research at Cambridge, Lynn Gladden brings a huge body of insight and connections from the highest levels of the UK’s research landscape – expertise the organisation will draw upon as we further establish our position in the research ecosystem.

“As a well-respected battery scientist and director of large energy storage research programmes Venkat Srinivasan brings a wealth of experience to the Faraday Institution. Development of the underpinning science to improve battery performance and supply chain circularity is an international research imperative and Venkat’s appointment further strengthens our collaborative ties to research programmes in the US to accelerate discovery.”

Introducing the new board members:

Dame Lynn Gladden

Dame Lynn Gladden is the Shell Professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of Cambridge in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology, and a Fellow of Trinity College and was the Executive Chair of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) from October 2018 to June 2023.

She is internationally recognised for her work on advancing magnetic resonance imaging techniques, originally developed for use in the medical environment, and using them in engineering research to gain a greater understanding of the physical and chemical phenomena that determine the performance of chemical processes and their resulting products.

In addition to her own research, Dame Lynn has held a number of research oversight roles in the UK and abroad, including Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research at Cambridge from 2010 to 2016. She is currently Chair of Judges for the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering.

Venkat Srinivasan

Venkat Srinivasan is the Director of the Argonne Collaborative Center for Energy Storage Science (ACCESS) and a Senior Scientist at Argonne National Lab. As Director of ACCESS, he develops the strategy and execution plan for the energy storage activities at Argonne, linking the lab’s capabilities and facilities to solve the numerous cross-cutting challenges that impede commercialisation of energy storage materials, devices, and systems. He is also the lead coordinator of the Li-Bridge alliance; a public-private partnership aiming at bridging the growing supply chain gap for batteries. Previously, Venkat also served as the Deputy Director of the Joint Center for Energy Storage Research (JCESR), a $25M a year program aimed at developing a fundamental understanding of the challenges in beyond Li-ion batteries. He is the current Director of JCESR.

Venkat’s research interest is in developing meso- and macro-scale models for battery materials and combining them with experimental characterisation to help design new materials, electrodes, and devices. Prior to joining Argonne National Lab, Venkat was a scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, where he served, at various times, as the technical manager of the Batteries for Advanced Transportation Technologies (BATT) Program, as the acting director of the BATT program, as department head of the Energy Storage and Distributed Resources (ESDR) department, and the interim director of the ESDR Division. Venkat joined the scientific staff at LBNL in 2003 after postdoctoral studies at LBNL and Pennsylvania State University. He received his PhD from the University of South Carolina in 2000.

Posted on July 10, 2023